EAIP Young Scientist Award

The Young Scientist Award was established during the 4th International Conference “Inverse Problems: Modeling and Simulation” in May 2008 and has been since awarded to young scientists who have done outstanding research in inverse problems and applications.

After the establishment of the Eurasian Association on Inverse Problems (EAIP) in 2015, the award was renamed the EAIP Young Scientist Award.

The EAIP Young Scientist Award (s) is presented to two young scientists under the age of 40 at the time of the IPMS conference, with particular merits in inverse problem analysis and its application. The candidates themselves or the institutions where the candidates are employed may submit nominations for the award. Nomination materials, cover letter and CV including a complete list of publications, should be submitted via email to the Secretariat of the Conference Inverse Problems: Modeling and Simulation ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ) with a CC to Otmar Scherzer ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ). The application for candidacy begins six months before the date of each IPMS conference and lasts for four months. The evaluation of candidates by the EAIP Young Scientist Award Committee ends two months before the date of the conference.

The EAIP Young Scientist Award consists of an award plaque, a cash prize of EUR 500, and a fee waiver for the next IPMS conference.

The Award is given during the Opening Ceremony of each International Conference "Inverse Problems: Modeling and Simulation".


EAIP Young Scientist Award Committee Members 

Giovanni S. Alberti, Italy
Alemdar  Hasanov Hasanoğlu, Turkey
Joonas Ilmavirta, Finland
Roman Novikov, France
Otmar Scherzer, Austria (Chair)
Cristiana Sebu, Malta
Marian Slodicka, Belgium

2008 Awardees
Dr. Maria Rapun, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
Dr. Arzu Erdem, Kocaeli University, Turkey
Dr. Maksim Shishlenin, Sobolev Inst. of Mathematics, Russia

2010 Awardee
Dr. Tomas Johansson, University of Birmingham, UK

2014 Awardees
Dr. Jens Flemming, TU Chemnitz, Germany
Dr. Mikhail Isaev, CMAP Ecole Polytechnique, France

2016 Awardees
Dr. Karel Van Bockstal, Ghent University, Belgium
Dr. Alexandre Jollivet, Lille 1 University, France


Young Sci.Award-Ceremony_IPMS-2016-1

2018 Awardees
Dr. Giovanni S. Alberti, University of Genoa, Italy
Dr. Bernadette Hahn, University of Würzburg, Germany
Dr. Andrei Shurup, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia

youngsci-1 youngsci-2

2020 - 2022 Awardees

peterelbau joonasilmavirta joonasilmavirta
Dr. Peter Elbau
Faculty of Mathematics,
University of Vienna, Austria

Dr. Joonas Ilmavirta
Department of Mathematics and Statistics,
University of Jyväskylä, Finland

Dr. Simon Hubmer
RICAM, Austrian Academy of Sciences,


2024 Awardees

aspri faucher
Dr. Andrea Aspri
Department of Mathematics,
University of Milan, Italy
Dr. Florian Faucher
INRIA Bordeaux,
University of Pau Uand Pays de l'Adour, France
lin liu
Dr. Yi-Hsuan Lin
Department of Applied Mathematics,
National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Dr. Yikan Liu
Department of Mathematics,
Kyoto University, Japan